Huffington Post Bans Commenters For Questioning Official Story of Bin Laden Death

The Slog
Monday, May 2, 2011

After comment-threading at Huffpost this afternoon about the range of inconsistencies between the White House account of the anti-Bin Laden operation and what appear to be the facts, this little message greeted me when I went to leave a link to tonight’s piece there an hour ago:

Huffington Post Bans Commenters For Questioning Official Story of Bin Laden Death

Post a comment

Sorry, but you have been banned from commenting.

There was nothing obscene, hateful or libellous in what I wrote. Just a comment saying how come helicopters fell out of the sky but no Navy seals died; and by the way where does it say in the Q’ran that Muslims should be buried at sea.

Two weeks ago, a threader here told me to ‘expect more censorship now Arianna has sold out to the right-wing AOL mavericks’. Oh how I laughed then. Oh how silly I feel now….especially given this post from a couple of days ago:

http://hat4uk.wordpress.com/2011/05/01/stop-moaning-and-demand-the-right-to-complain/

So, it looks like the Democrats have caught the Guardian disease.

I believe Bin Laden is dead. But I also believe we are being fed a stream of bollocks about who knew what, and when. I believe it is my right in a liberal democratic society and a free Web to post about it. Clearly, I’m mistaken.v

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *