012 — English Basic Ch. 2

In my absence today, please complete Ch 2 of your English Basics book. I would like you to complete the extended writing task at the end of the chapter. Please do the first of the two extended writing tasks. Below is an example of this writing task; it requires you to about someone you know really well. I chose to write about my mum.

We have had our differences over the years, many in fact but despite this, my mum is someone I love and respect deeply. A harsh woman, she often says things with a bluntness that offends; however, when you look past her abruptness there is often a lot of wisdom behind her words. As a boy she seemed like a woman who didn’t know how to be happy; she rarely smiled and regularly went for days without speaking to anyone – she could hold a grudge for a long time. Now I am older, I now understand that my mum was a woman working incredibly hard with little support from her husband, carrying sadness from her childhood that weighed on her heavily. She has taught me that we are hugely influenced by our upbring, for she was influenced by hers and has certainly influenced mine; she has also taught me that you have to make the best of what you have. No matter how hard you think you have it, it can always be worse.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *