Collage Poetry and Poetry Analysis

Warm Up

Explain why it is shortsighted to pretend that climate change isn’t as much of an issue as it is.

Today

Collage Poem

  • Read the text from the novel ‘Boys Life’ by Robert McCammon
  • 25 lines or bits of lines
  • Write out the lines you have highlighted in a order that seems appealing to you

Example

Why did I do it?
It’s not for me the thrill of the kill
Or to see the heart beat stagger.
The unchained curiosity
Helped compromise my nature.
Inside my thoughts
There is
A frame
Sewn from bloody truth.
A hornets’ nest,
Forged with pieces and patches
Of encounters and circumstance.
I breathe in my fantasies,
The real world?
A tough blend
Samples of talking to people,
Foul mouth
From people who had crossed God.
I am not a werewolf or lawbreaker
No silver bullet could track me
That is why I kill.

Poerty Analysis

  • Read the poem ‘My Father Began as a God’
  • Answer the questions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *